Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours (The Sailors’ Church) is a church located in Old Town, Montreal, Quebec, Canada.
“Notre-Dame de Bon-Secours” is a church built in 1978 in Montreal, where the Chapel of Marguerite Bourgeois (1665) previously stood.In 1678, construction of the stone building was completed. In 1754, the church was destroyed by fire and restored in 1771.
The walls and vaults of the building are decorated with images of saints – patrons of travelers and sailors.
Attached to the chapel is an archeology museum that displays objects found on the site that come from millennial Amerindian camps, the foundation of the first chapel, and fragments of stone and wood that walled the city before it had walls of stone.
Access : Coordinates: 45.51, -73.551111 /
- The chapel site contains important remains, such as the remains of a prehistoric camp, the first stone chapel built in 1675, the palisade of 1709 and the burials of nine hospital sisters of Saint-Joseph.
Go next : Explore Old Montreal , a historic neighbourhood within the municipality of Montreal in the province of Quebec, Canada.