The New Seven Wonders of the World

In 2001, the New7Wonders Foundation initiated the selection of New7Wonders of the World.   the campaign started in 2000 to choose Wonders of the World,  from a selection of 200 existing monuments. Announced on January 1, 2006, twenty-one finalists. The Egyptians were dissatisfied with the fact that the only surviving miracle of the original list, the Great Pyramid of Giza , was to compete with those of the Statue of Liberty, the Sydney Opera House and other landmarks, calling the project absurd. In response, the pyramid was declared an honorary candidate. The results were announced on 7 July 2007 in Lisbon:
Winners :  The Great Pyramid of Giza, largest and oldest of the three pyramids at the Giza Necropolis in Egypt and the only surviving of the original Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, was granted honorary status.

Great Pyramid of Giza (honorary status)

Location : Giza Necropolis, Egypt , Year : 2560 BCE

Great Wall of China

Location : China , Year :700 BCE


Location : Jordan , Year : 312 BCE

The Colosseum

Location : Rome, Italy Year : 80 CE

Chichen Itza

Location : Yucatan, Mexico Year : 600 CE

Machu Picchu

Location : Cuzco Region, Peru Year : 1450 CE

Taj Mahal

Location : Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India Year : 1643 CE

Christ the Redeemer

Location : Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Year :


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here