The Swedish Gate is a cultural monument, an architectural complex on Tornja Street in Riga, Latvia.
At the beginning of the seventeenth century, in the area of Tornaya Street today, flooded houses along the city wall began to fall. Newlyweds need a place where they need to be covered. For this purpose, in 1698, during the Swedish rule, a new city gate was erected on the wall of the house, which is the only gate that has survived for five days.
From the reconstruction, the tall buildings take on the appearance of the original. The Baroque style is given to the front, the portal, the pages and the consoles. The two houses are architectural complexes, where the Union of Architects of Latvia today houses a library and a studio.
Access : Coordinates: 56.95144, 24.106375 / The Swedish Gate connects Torna Street with Aldaru Street.
- In 1926, the Swedish Gate was leased from the city by the Society of Latvian Architects, and the house was rebuilt according to its new purpose.
- The name comes from the time period when Sweden ruled in Latvia. The legacy is believed to come from the year 1621 when Gustav II Adolf arrived in the city through this gate.
- The gate was opened when the sun was setting, and closed when the sun was setting – the keys were kept in the Town Hall.
- Kurt Wallander visits the Swedish Gate in the novel Dogs of Riga.
Go next :The picturesque and famous the three brothers, the oldest residential buildings in Riga. / the Powder Tower, which currently houses part of the Latvian War Museum.