St. Michaels Mount is a tidal island located 366 m from the shore of Mount Bay and the site of a former monastery in the county of Cornwall in the West of England. ( United Kingdom ).
The monastery was founded on the island by Benedictine monks in the 12th century.Historically, St Michael’s Mount was the Cornish counterpart of Mont Saint-Michel in Normandy, France (sharing the same characteristics of a tidal island and the same conical shape), when in the 11th century Edward the Confessor granted it to the Benedictines, the same religious order of the French Mont Saint-Michel.
The chapel is extradiocesan, and the castle is the official residence of Lord St Levan. Many relics are preserved in the castle, mainly armor and period furniture. The chapel of San Miguel, a 15th century building, has a crenellated tower, at an angle of which there is a small turret that served to guide ships.
The Rock chapel on the beach marks the site of a shrine dedicated to the Virgin Mary, where pilgrims stopped to worship before ascending the mountain. There are some houses built on the hillside opposite Marazion, and a spring supplies them with water.
Although the island is located in the sea 366 meters from the coast, at low tide it can be reached on foot! When the water level drops, a stone-paved path suddenly appears in the middle of the water surface.
Access : Coordinates:50.116, -5.4772 / St Michael’s Mount is an accessible island at low tide in the shape of a pyramid of granite which rises to 60 m, located in Mount’s Bay in Cornwall, about one kilometer from the town of Penzance, in the south-west of Great Britain
/ The island is connected by a ferry ,as well as a strip of land during low tide to the city of Marazion.
- St Michael’s Mount is colloquially known to locals simply as The Mount.The island has a castle and a 15th-century chapel. The island was bought by Colonel John St Aubyn in 1659 and is still owned by the St. Aubyn family. However, the whole is managed by the National Trust
- One of the most notable points of interest on the island is the underground railway, which is still used to transport goods from the port to the castle.
- The port, which was expanded in 1823 to allow docking of 500-ton ships, has a dock dating from the 15th century, which was later expanded and restored. Queen Victoria landed at the port on the royal yacht in 1846, and a brass plaque commemorates her passage and can be seen on top of the landing platform
- Climb the cobblestone path up to the top of the island and see panoramic views, On the shore, visitors are given two choices – take a stroll through the monastery’s colorful garden or climb the top to the old castle.
- Explore the gardens : colorful gardens, where flowers and exotic plants have flourished since 1780. Breathe in the sea air, which is enriched with the scent of spring flowers or summer herbs.
- The harbor village : the harbor village of Mount was home to over 300 islanders, and by 1811 there were 53 houses, 4 streets, 3 schools and 3 pubs. Today, 30 islanders live on the island
Tickets can be purchased via Eventbrite / The castle remains closed until further notice.
Activities : sightseeing / photo opportunities / Scenic Driving- Auto Touring / Good place to glance history!! / Explore the Garden / Village tours.
Go next : Marazion : a small coastal village near Penzance in Cornwall / Penzance , the most south-westerly town in Cornwall.